Stream of consciousness or Where do I go (part one)…

In 1890 American philosopher and psychologist William James coined the term “stream of consciousness” in his book, The Principles of Psychology.  The term is now usually applied to a certain form of narrative in fiction… Stream of consciousness is a narrative technique that gives the impression of a mind at work, jumping from one observation, sensation, or reflection to the next. These varied elements are usually expressed in a flow of words without conventional transitions (http://grammar.about.com/od/rs/g/Stream-Of-Consciousness.htm).

It was as I was looking at my last post and deciding what “road” I would next follow that I decided just to wander.  In that post I mentioned The Free Design‘s cover of Where Do I Go.  The song is part of Hair: The American Tribal Love-Rock Musical which made its debut in 1967.  The show enjoyed (and continues to enjoy) a level of popularity and spawned a number of top 40 hits for various artists.

The book and lyrics were by James Rado and Gerome Ragni and music by Galt MacDermot.

The book and lyrics were by James Rado and Gerome Ragni and music by Galt MacDermot.

Now back in the late ’60’s I was beginning to collect albums and ’45’s.  My criterion in getting a ’45 was quite simple…either I really liked the song (enough to play it repeatedly) or it was a clearance item.  Easy to be Hard (by Three Dog Night) fell into that first category. So how does that fit into today’s wandering.  Well, it too comes from the musical Hair… Here it is…

By the way, as a matter of trivia, the song reached #4 on Billboard’s Hot 100 in 1969.  The band, which had the distinction of having three lead singers, charted no less than twelve gold albums in their heyday as well as 21 top 40 hits… not exactly one-hit wonders!

At this point, my road divides.  Part of me wants to choose Everything Reminds Me of My Dog by Jane Siberry… a nod to the previous band’s name.

On the other hand, as I consider Easy to be Hard‘s lyrics in the context of the recent American election, the refugee immigration debate and the tragic death of six individuals at a mosque here in Canada (in Quebec) I lean to that Quebec native son so recently taken from us, Leonard Cohen.  Always prescient, always clever and serving his songs with a more than a hint of irony (and even a little hope)…

So…take your pick of these two (depending on your own stream) and we’ll see where these selections lead us in the next post…

 

