Looking back…looking forward…

Looking back…

Of all the posts I’ve done to date, one of the most visited is, oddly enough, one of the “obscurities”… specifically Obscurity #1.  In it I allude to a song by the Ozark Mountain Daredevils titled Spaceship Orion.  I’ve discovered that I’m not alone in my fondness for the song.  In fact two recent comments on the selection (cf. the post) refer to trying to play it on guitar.  I’m not a guitar guy…and I have never tried playing the song (until now).  But then I think…what the heck!  So after fiddling with the tune for a little while (about an hour of listening to/playing along with the recording), I’ve decided to reveal the result…so, here it is, a pianofied (very rough) version of Spaceship Orion

Thanks for the tune, boys...
Thanks for the tune, boys…

Still looking back…

I couldn’t leave this section without acknowledging the passing of one of the “sung heroes” (versus unsung) of pop music… P.F. Sloan.  His contribution to the canon includes

Eve of Destruction

Let Me Be

A Must to Avoid

You Baby

Secret Agent Man

On a Quiet Night

Where Were You When I Needed You

Sung he indeed was… but these songs I’ve listed were made famous by other artists.  As a recording artist he never achieved similar personal fame.  Jimmy Webb wrote his own tribute to Sloan in the early 1970’s and it seems a fitting memorial for this month…

Philip Gary Schlein (aka P.F. Sloan) 1945-2015
Philip Gary Schlein (aka P.F. Sloan) 1945-2015

Looking Ahead…

It’s not unusual that I catch at least part of Randy Bachman‘s weekly broadcast of Vinyl Tap on CBC.  Broadcast early Saturday evening and repeated the following (late) Friday night I often find myself listening while out driving, lying in bed or taking a bath.  Each segment he creates examines a variety of pop songs set within a given theme.  It was not so long ago that he did a program which looked at songs with up or down in the title.  It so happened that I was listening as he was introducing Curtis Mayfield‘s Move On Up… a perfectly fine song in its own right.  But that song got me thinking of the Esquires‘ Get On Up (alluded to in my previous post).  And that got me thinking of the direction (theme) of my next several posts.  And that theme is/will be Direction.  So the songs I’ll be looking at will involve ups and downs (as per Randy’s program) but will also include twists and turns and going in circles while (I hope) avoiding any improper turns.  Perhaps the best song to start things off is a number by Diana Ross, a number which became #1 in 1980.  See if you recognize her accomplice on stage…

And we’re off (hopefully in the right direction…)

Leave a Reply

