Resurrection reflection and retrospect…

Easter 2015…

and it's another beautiful winter's day...
and it’s another beautiful winter’s day…

Watching the snow come down once again.  In December it would be lovely.  In April?  Not so much.

Having maintained this blog over a period of several years there’s always a danger of repeating one’s self.  Today, however, I’m going to afford myself (deliberately) that luxury.  A set of four observations for this day…

A.  Why Orion?

One of the few things I pay attention to (to which I pay attention?) in this enterprise is the geographical/statistical visitation paid to a particular topic/post.  Would it surprise you to find that one of the most frequented items over the past five years has been an obscurity, specifically Obscurity #1, a sort of tribute to the music of the Ozark Mountain Daredevils.  The focus of the post was Spaceship Orion, a relatively little-known song in the band’s catalogue.  Why it should be so regularly visited I’m not sure.   But, if you haven’t read the post/heard the song, follow the link.

Maybe it's just 'cause they're just so darned relaxed about it all...
Maybe it’s just ’cause they’re just so darned relaxed about it all…

B.  Kes

A few posts back I related the passing of our “middle dog”, Kes.  I’m reminded of her today because she came into our lives on the Easter weekend back in 2000.

Under the tree, Christmas 2015.
Under the tree, Christmas 2015.

C.  He is Risen Indeed

Among these posts I’ve sprinkled the occasional song which I wrote.  One of my favourites, though, is largely the creation of Jane, my wife.  She gets credit for the melody and lyrics.  I simply assisted in harmonizing the tune.  Appropriate for this day.  It is to be found in Excuse Five: The Theological Sidestep.  Follow the link for the post or listen to the melody below…

D.  And then, that reminded me of Grünewald…

Back in 2012 we celebrated our anniversary by taking a trip which we still recall with great fondness.  That junket included a visit to Colmar, France and the viewing of the Isenheim Altarpiece, created circa 1512 by Matthias Grünewald.  For me, the most breathtaking panel is the moment of Resurrection, shown below…

Jane's favourite panel (and mine too, incidentally) is the Ressurection.  Amazing in its contrast of darkness and light and in its sense of movement...

 

If you would like to see our trip in greater detail, feel free to drop by that post, Nothing like a thunderstorm…

Postscript

I’ve been procrastinating a bit of late.  I have a notion of a topic which I would like to explore for a few upcoming posts.  The tentative title is Hooks and Worms.  Probably next post…

Leave a Reply

