A potpourri…

Ah, May… although we’ve been experiencing snippets of spring since March this year, you kinda hope that it’s getting serious about it by May.  And there are certain hues… like the grape hyacinths (above) that make the winter wait worthwhile.  This post is a bit of this and that… hence, a potpourri…

The Roland FP8

One thing I’ve just started doing (periodically) is looking a bit more closely at the stats for my blog.  At the heart of it, I’m really just doing this for my own amusement and edification.  The stats page does, however, provide some interesting info… for one thing, the numerical visits paid to the site.  It also indicates the country of origin for the visitors… oddly enough sometimes with a far greater international than national presence.  Most peculiar (to me) are the visitors who arrive as a result of doing an online search… and here’s the peculiarity.  In one post (May 2011) I mentioned using the Roland FP8 during my teaching days.  And far and away the most searches/visits have resulted from that mention.  I’m not sure why… I did like the key action and sound (properly amplified) of the wee beastie.  That said now I own/use a Roland FP2 (a circa 2003 generation product still being sold by Roland) which, while it doesn’t compare with the FP8 action/piano sound (for me), is about half the weight, has a full roster of sounds on board (ie. synthesizer) it can emulate (besides piano) and connects to the computer via usb as well as midi (saves installing midi interface).  It looks something like this…

The Roland FP2... lighter, more versatile... and it feels/sounds okay too

So there’s another Roland rant (we’ll see what that does to the stats page)…

Harmony

I’ve mentioned my fondness for vocal harmony in numerous posts.  I recently received an email from a former student, now attending UBC and studying choral composition.  He was informing me of the performance of one of his compositions at a recent choral concert.  The text for the work is a poem by Robert Louis Stevenson… When the Sun Comes After Rain.  Here’s the clip…

Congratulations, Matthew!

And now for something completely different…

Well, not exactly.  We are still talking harmony.

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that The Beach Boys (Brian and co.) have patched up their differences sufficiently to release a new album and undertake a tour in celebration of their 50th (50!) anniversary.  Here’s the first peek (or listen) at their reunion…

Speaking of anniversaries…

This post (I am told by my reliable stats page) is my 60th!  It just goes to show that you can accumulate a great deal of verbiage even when you don’t have a lot to say…

