A new shirt and achy legs…

First day of school…  as a teacher for much of my life, the first day meant achy legs and a new shirt.  The new shirt (metaphorically speaking) represents the excitement of a new school year, a fresh start.  Of course, sometimes there were new pants, even a new jacket.  The achy legs were always a byproduct of that first day… at least for the first twenty years or so of teaching… and gradually lessening over the final dozen “first days”.  After a couple of years of returning home with my leg muscles badly aching, I learned that a hot bath could offer some amelioration for the discomfort.  And, after a couple days of “getting into the groove”, I would be fine for another year.  The achy legs were my physical manifestation of the anxiety/apprehension which also characterizes the start of a new school year.

I suspect, to some degree, most teachers, students (and even parents) experience that combination of excitement and apprehension with the arrival of first day of school.  I must confess that, while I may miss the new shirt, I’m relieved to report that the legs feel fine today.  For all who are experiencing the excitement and apprehension of that first day, I wish your sense of excitement only to increase as the year unfolds and your apprehensions to be few or unfounded.

The Tradition Continues

Ever since our move to Goderich and the coming of each new school year (post-retirement) we’ve made a practice of visiting the waterfront with a cup of coffee at about the same time as I would be preparing to receive students in my other life.  This year we followed that visit up with a walk (canine-accompanied) along Black’s Point.  The slideshow below is a pictorial account of the start of our “first day”.  I’ve also included a picture of each of our grandchildren, the majority of whom begin their first day of school today.  Good luck all!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And… to finish… for your viewing pleasure… in their first feature length film… together for the first time…

p.s.  An anniversary of a different sort… this marks (more or less) one year of blogging here and it is my intention to continue the journey for at least one more year, DV.

3 thoughts on “A new shirt and achy legs…”

  1. Jane and Bruce,
    Great pictures of your “first “day back to school. Great memories. I just remember being so tired all I wanted to do was sleep forever!!!! My whole body ached not just my legs!! I am very happy I am not going back – love the freedom.
    Take care,
    Trish

  2. Bruce, I didn’t have a new shirt on the first day of school but oh, did my legs ache! They continued to ache all week.

    I still go shopping for something new for the grandkids to wear on the first day, or even during the first week. (I wonder if they ever do wear the stuff that Nana chooses?)

    You and Jane had to be very energetic to get out to the water’s edge on this cool day. Probably your dogs wouldn’t let you stay in even if you wanted to! As for me, I should have been out walking, but I sat at the computer most of the morning, preparing for a meeting this afternoon. Some people never learn, wouldn’t you say?

    Thanks for your good wishes and also for the tour of Goderich

  3. Hello! I must start by telling you how much I love coming home on the first day of school to this tradition! I too wore a new shirt today and can relate to your blog well.
    My year is off to a very busy start. I am teaching grade eight with four lines of Music and two lines of Art. It was a very busy day!!! I left on Friday to 25 kids and returned to find 28. There is not alot of room in my room to walk but it is better than the 38 grade 6s I had during my second year of teaching.
    I am so pleased to see your smiling faces after the storm you have just survived! Love to pics too! Thanks so much for staying in touch!
    Cheers,
    tam

Leave a Reply

